Home » Poetry » Day 11 – Dethroned King

Day 11 – Dethroned King

Gleaming tower on a far white shore
in the corner of my eye;
obelisk lighthouse relic,
wretched whatever-
a dethroned King
pumping that gramophone siren call,
flashing that moth-bulb
to feed his rock collection
and I won’t stand for that.

I got no cause to suffer that ilk,
no pension to give it an ear;
not when patrons are so easily
overwhelmed around here.
Athena on a park bench
is what they’re crying over,
though I wouldn’t take that nonsense
even if it were true.

And since I won’t trouble myself
to shake higher branches
it’s just running straight home
from His Majesty’s gaze
that sees my doors locked
and the blinds drawn.

Leave a Reply

