Home » Poetry » Day 15 – Postponed

Day 15 – Postponed

I hurled my umbrella after him,
shoved him out the door.
From my window I watched him go,
heavy footsteps down the sidewalk,
shrinking into the sun.
I thought he must’ve burned up
and I didn’t care.

But then who could wonder after any man
with the circus in town!
Oh what a joyous distraction,
all its wheels and fancies,
colors, lights, and sounds-
set up in view of my window,
transfixed me through the glass.

Each day I’d wave and smile
at such fascinating creatures,
watched my little friends go about their business,
until with a puzzled expression I noticed them
packing.

A clown pointed up and mouthed
“storm.”

I don’t know how long it’s been brewing
I didn’t notice when it started-
but I can guess.

My circus has since departed,
though I’ve hardly considered it for pondering
these awful clouds;
whether tiny explosions on the sun
could’ve caused such rain
and how long it will last since
he’s got my umbrella.

13 thoughts on “Day 15 – Postponed

  1. Love your poetry – and your profile. Thank you so much for following mine; added incentive for me to post more of the many poems that are sitting in folders. And perhaps to write some new ones, too! Good luck on your 365-day challenge.

  2. Such a cool journey this took me on. Thank you so much for joining us on wePoets. It’s much appreciated. We’d be happy to showcase your work should you want to share it. If so our theme and submission pages explain everything. 🙂

  3. Hi Charlotte,

    Thanks for following my blog. Really enjoyed your poem above. The style reminded me of Yevtushenko. Have you read him? I find his poetry very honest and spot on.

  4. I love your work and what an inspiration to motivate you to write everyday for a year. I guess the words are all in there, we just have to put them together and write them down 🙂 thank you for following me, I’m looking forward to reading more of your work!

Leave a Reply

