Home » Poetry » Day 23 – The Devils I’m Used To

Day 23 – The Devils I’m Used To

Hangin’ around on the corner, leanin’ on a lamppost, there’s one of ’em
Another sittin’ atop a bench, another danglin’ from a tree
The devils I’m used to, leering like schoolboys
And they never leave

I hug my books, stick my nose in the air, keep walkin’ right on by
They throw rocks, flowers sometimes, and nets
I throw wicked, nasty glances
But they never leave

I’ve heard it said: better the ones you know, better than learning too late
That there are worse terrors than fledgling nuisances,
But I’d take my chances on anything but
These tired old devils I’m used to

Leave a Reply

