Home » Poetry » Day 39 – Been Waitin’

Day 39 – Been Waitin’

If anyone deserves it
Lord knows it ain’t me
But I’d still thank Him kindly
For a pardon this time

I know I been runnin’ around
With those ragamuffin boys
But they given me nothin’ but trouble
And I’m about tired out

And now here come a gent
Walkin’ tall as an oak
And I’m wonderin’ what he could ever want with me
Just what he could want with me

But if fate could have mercy
Oh, have it on me
And my weary heart, us waitin’
For such a long time-
Such a long time waitin’ to be

Leave a Reply

