Home » Poetry » Day 50 – Simply Put

Day 50 – Simply Put

I’m not lying when I tell them
it’s a burdensome task
but I don’t want to lie like that.
I’m telling them the truth
when I shrug it off, simply put
because I’m obviously in possession
of an unhinged mind,
but a one which knows
you can’t go around raving
about the ways to catch and commit
the things which float beyond your sight.

Don’t tell anybody’s kids that words are floating everywhere.

But you CAN sit in your office and grumble sometimes,
shut the door and cry sometimes
because I don’t know why anybody spends so much time
poring over the water from the faucet,
when things are so simply put.

Leave a Reply

