Home » Poetry » Day 54 – Just A Girl in a Coffee Shop

Day 54 – Just A Girl in a Coffee Shop

Cigarette smoke was not enough to fend me off,
though board games weren’t enough to keep me-
I wasn’t looking, but it had to’ve been something important,
didn’t it,
to root me there.

I took a picture and wrote a caption,
labeled what it was about the place I’d found
that gave me reason to stay,

but I wasn’t practiced yet.

For it wasn’t at all what I said it was
in my shaky lines and my passionate prose;
it was only a place where you could find
someone to buy a journal with.

Because I was just a girl in a coffee shop,
counting the other me’s walk by,
and I never gave it anything but money;
nothing to last.

So when I grew up, it figures that I’d scorn it,
taking, taking, understanding what I’d gotten
and keeping it when I’d gone.

2 thoughts on “Day 54 – Just A Girl in a Coffee Shop

  1. Charlotte, I haven’t had time lately to comment as much as I would like, but I have really enjoyed these last pieces. This one in particular was striking. Is it me or are you ahead of schedule? >KB

Leave a Reply

