Home » Poetry » Day 62 – Whatever Oblivion Suits You Best

Day 62 – Whatever Oblivion Suits You Best

I trust that you will find
a safer place, clear of me
when you decide to end the war.
I think that you were always
storing the map away in case
because you never did find
the sanctuary to burn it in.
But you never let me see it-
you knew I’d try to come-
the guide to your hidden places,
all the worlds where you’ll abide,
and I won’t learn their names.
Sweetheart, I don’t care.
If I should ever overhear,
I’ll cover my ears; if I ever
see your soul written on a
bathroom stall door
I’ll pretend I don’t know it
because I’ll know that I
closed my eyes and counted ten
and before opening knew
that you’d already beat it
to a home you’d reserved
in the mountains, before
all of this made you tired.
I hope I don’t think of many
questions after you’re gone
into oblivion, when you’re
at last unfettered and I’d still
have no idea, when you pick
a place to dissolve into
whatever oblivion suits you
best.

One thought on “Day 62 – Whatever Oblivion Suits You Best

  1. “Sweetheart, I don’t care.
    If I should ever overhear,
    I’ll cover my ears; if I ever
    see your soul written on a
    bathroom stall door
    I’ll pretend I don’t know it…”

    This entire poem is brilliant and bittersweet, yet with a nice bite to it. You’ve impressed me yet again.

Leave a Reply

