Home » Other Writing » Goofin’ Off: A Playlist

Goofin’ Off: A Playlist

I’m supposed to be finishing this poem for Day 64, but it’s being a difficult little snot and I am easily distracted. So I figured I’d share one of my neat little playlists (did I mention I’m keen on making playlists?) That’s hysterical to me because while I’m writing I absolutely cannot listen to any music at all or it funks up the rhythm of whatever I’m working on. But there’s quite a lot of music I listen to otherwise to get inspired or to drool in envy because I wish I could write like that. The following is my playlist of songs with the kind of lyrics that make me jaw-droppingly jealous, the kind of writing that keeps me writing. Enjoy šŸ™‚

(I promise I’ll get back to work after this.)

Char’s “Lyricism” Playlist

1. Iron & Wine – Resurrection Fern
2. Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
3. Vampire Weekend – Hannah Hunt
4. Purity Ring – Ungirthed
5. Cold War Kids – Broken Open
6. Damien Rice – Delicate
7. Elliott Smith – Angeles
8. Laura Marling – Rambling Man
9. Radiohead – No Surprises
10. Steely Dan – Kid Charlemagne
11. Arcade Fire – Wake Up
12. Bright Eyes – Weather Reports

Leave a comment with suggestions if you like, I love getting into new stuff šŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Goofin’ Off: A Playlist

    • I do like to listen to jazz instrumentals occasionally while writing- anything without words because it’s too distracting. Those cheesy “easy listening” cd’s from walmart actually sortof do the trick šŸ˜‰

  1. Good playlist. I knew some of the bands but not all of the songs, thanks for introducing me to them. =) You’ve reminded me of some favorites from way back when by Arcade Fire, Purity Ring, Vampire Weekend, and who can’t love Radiohead?

    Ever heard Lofticries by Purity Ring or Rococo by Arcade Fire? Also you can check out:
    Full Circle – Half Moon Run
    We have a map of the piano – Mum
    Anything you synthesize – American Dollar

    Last two are instrumentals, don’t know if that’s anything you’re into, but it helps me write when there are no lyrics to distract me. Also, you’ve inspired me to post poetry on my blog. I wasn’t sure whether or not to, because some of my poetry can be pretty dark, but hey, it’s something I love doing so I should share it. Thank you. =)

    • Hi Pamela,
      Thanks so much for the recommendations! It was definitely hard to choose one song from each artist when their whole collection is so good lyrically! I do like instrumentals sometimes when I’m writing, for just the same reason- lyrics can be so distracting, haha šŸ™‚
      And I’m so glad you’ve decided to include poetry in your blog, that’s something I would encourage everyone to try.
      Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment. All the best!

      Charlotte

  2. Nothing like listening to some superb lyrics to get you fired up enough to try and write something of your own. Very good, strong list. Especially liked the inclusion of Radiohead, Arcade Fire and Elliott Smith. Some suggestions if you’re interested:

    Death Cab for Cutie – Title Track (their first album is phenomenal)
    Modest Mouse – Talking shit about a pretty sunset (contender for greatest song title ever)
    Radiohead – Sail to the moon and scatterbrain.
    Little Comets – Her black eyes.
    American Football – For sure.

    And if you really want to listen to a song with brilliant lyricism, I especially urge you to listen to:

    Owen – Never meant.

    That last one is poetry set to music. Anyway, hope you enjoy if you chose to give any a listen.

    • Talking Shit About a Pretty Sunset is another one of those that I *almost* put on the list, love that one! I’ll be sure to give the others a listen, thanks for the suggestions, and thanks for reading šŸ™‚

  3. Like the playlist. Love Damien Rice (Cannonball), Iron&Wine (Flightless Bird American Mouth). If you haven’t Matt Corby (Brother/Made of Stone), Eisley (I wasn’t prepared/ combinations), Jude (Battered Broken/ I know/I do), Kings of Convenience (Weight of my Words ) actually the whole album is flawless. I could go on but a comment shouldn’t be longer than a post.

  4. I wanted to thank you for following my blog, and ended up reading many of your poems instead! This is quite the challenge you have going on, I hope the inspiration continues. I love your playlist, and I am exactly the same- I can listen to music before I start writing but not during. Although I will sometimes make allowances for instrumental film soundtracks šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

