Home » Poetry » Day 71 – No Heart

Day 71 – No Heart

We’re a perfect match, you and I-
let’s get this over with.
You with your melting scanning eyeballs
who can’t read and can’t see the irony
of picking me, when I don’t want you.
And I’m sure I will love you-
I with my freezing hands and lazy glances-
eventually.
You will throw birthday parties for our neighbors
and I will sit by the window watching the stars die
and neither of us will hear the music in our home
for our conditions.

7 thoughts on “Day 71 – No Heart

  1. I love this pair of lines: “and I will sit by the window watching the stars die
    and neither of us will hear the music in our home”

    They are so very strong. Have you considered ending the poem there?

Leave a Reply

