Home » Poetry » Day 73 – Stuck Up Here

Day 73 – Stuck Up Here

It’s not that I rushed up a tree to look down
and cast shadows on those lookin’ up-
I just wasn’t much good on the ground.
When I’d had it all out of tripping myself
a quiet climb was left, and now
I’m stuck up
here.

I don’t throw coconuts, I’m not that bad,
but it’s enough that I won’t come down.
They’re throwin’ ’em up at me, and I
don’t mind except to feel a little tired
of explaining often why
I’m stuck up
here.

Most people in trees are quiet;
no justification would suffice
to excuse their front-row access
to sunrise.

And if I don’t answer to catcalls, the least
I could do is to not act as if
it’s some kind of struggle
to be stuck up
here.

4 thoughts on “Day 73 – Stuck Up Here

Leave a Reply

