Home » Poetry » Day 87 – Hush

Day 87 – Hush

Hush, dear
or you’ll get me started.

From a back alley waitress
and somebody’s frightened wife,
I have finally beaten that game.

I’m not in the ring for diamonds,
nowhere near a settler down,
told my momma I ain’t primed for that stuff.
There are countries I haven’t devoured.

For me there is no joy beyond
the star-burst corners I find,
inhabit, unnoticed much,
rambling cold woman forever.

There’s no secret I would keep from you,
fever-partner, symmetry of my beating fists-
but you don’t know of what you speak.
In other lives I was a hunter, but
trust me now.

Believe in me that I will never sail
to lands beyond echo’s reach-
I search for no gold but to live and breathe
in the arrogant way I know best.

And were it to me I would have you forget,
excepting our secret haunts,
until you discover what your song’s about.
There are countries you haven’t devoured.

But if you must think,
figure me a ghost
and hush,
or you’ll get me started.

8 thoughts on “Day 87 – Hush

  1. Hey Charlotte!
    Thanks for the follow and I gladly return the favor!
    I like this poem and just might ‘unhide’ the poetry that has been on my blog for a while!

    Regards

    Jim

  2. Love it!
    “Believe in me that I will never sail
    to lands beyond echo’s reach-”
    These lines really talk to me.

Leave a Reply

