Home » Poetry » Day 88 – For Good Reason

Day 88 – For Good Reason

I was innocent, I was young the day I wrote that song
that I meant and which you said was nice.
We had no cause to hit the end of the block
’cause Chinese food again was good enough.
Hundreds of days went on and on like that.
I don’t remember much.

I think I died about a thousand times.

I was innocent, I was young the night I found it,
the letter from her on your dresser.
I wasn’t pleased but I believed, and it was fine.
But the next day at the springs
my shake was mildly-flavored water and suddenly
swimming wasn’t helping the human race.

And the grey of the ground cursed me, I think.

It’s a kind of sad that doesn’t affect me much,
never comes up in conversation;
the avoidance of that innocence and youth
isn’t conscious
but it’s for good reason,
I think.

5 thoughts on “Day 88 – For Good Reason

  1. What poignant, insightful and creative insight. Your are a true talent of the words. Please keep it up. Also, thank you for discovering my photography blog http://www.throughharoldslens.com. You gave me the opportunity to discover, explore and follow your blog. Hope we both enjoy our journeys. On behalf of the Through Harold’s Lens Creative Team, my trusty sidekick Mr. SLR Nikon, his brother Mr. Pen Pal and myself, we wish you the best. Harold

  2. This 365-day project of yours seems rather intriguing. :3 This sounded very…nostalgic and reflective, in a subdued, melancholic sort of way. Still, though, the emotions are prevalent. ^-^

Leave a Reply

