Home » Poetry » Day 102 – Gargoyle

Day 102 – Gargoyle

The unholiest thing I have ever seen
Grey gargoyle, grimacing figurine
Watches over, watches all
Perched atop my garden wall
Where I sing, petrified, day by day
Under its ravenous gaze

We haven’t always been at odds
But that was before we angered the gods
By singing so harmoniously
That they took its voice and sentenced me
To practice my scales relentlessly
Under its ravenous gaze

And now I fear with each false note
Which rises from my quivering throat
A justified excuse to slate
Its lust for revenge, its reckless hate
For I who cursed us both to waste away
Under its ravenous gaze

Leave a Reply

