Home » Poetry » Day 108 – Interpreter

Day 108 – Interpreter

I learned Spanish in seven weeks,
learned Mandarin in ten,
but when I learned to speak without words
I learned to say what matters.

I studied the ways to smile a blessing,
how a heart shines through the eyes
and what fingertips can say;
I obliterated my craft for that.

It took me years.

But the things I hear in a hum now,
the things I feel in a handshake
what I see knitted in brows
and everything that comes with a kiss

will keep this interpreter busy in vain
as long as the sun still speaks.

2 thoughts on “Day 108 – Interpreter

  1. The purpose of words is to convey ideas.
    When the ideas are grasped, the words are forgoten.
    Where can I find a man who has forgotten words?
    He is the one I would like to talk to!

    ~Chuang Tzu

Leave a Reply

