Home » Poetry » Day 115 – Kids, If It Were Up To Me

Day 115 – Kids, If It Were Up To Me

Kids, if it were up to me,
I’d bring you back all the books I could carry
in a hundred and fifty suitcases.
If it were up to me you’d be eating them for breakfast.
If they’d allow it I’d fill the swimming pool,
line the hallways,
stack them up to kingdom come,
and I’d read to you until my lungs gave out.
If it were up to me I’d find a way
to make you believe what I’d try to tell you
about knowledge and fantasy and finding yourself between pages,
but
books are expensive.
I can’t bring them all to you.
Someone decided to let me be the one
to decide what to bring you,
and it’s a tougher fate than I’d expected, kids,
because it’s up to me.

2 thoughts on “Day 115 – Kids, If It Were Up To Me

  1. I like your poem and can definitely relate, as I worked for many years in a library, love books, and work with children. Now that my only son is 21, I find that “it’s not up to me” and it’s really hard to watch him flail around looking for the wisdom he needs, while he rejects my ideas, as he must do at this stage in his life. I hope you will enjoy the admiration and faith which your kids place in you at this time.

Leave a Reply

