Home » Poetry » Day 122 – Train Wreck

Day 122 – Train Wreck

Hold my breath and
close my eyes
’til this bloody awful train wreck is done.

Avoid, avoid-
the secret to peace-
walk a less horrifying road.

I hear the screams and
I know it’s a mess
but God doesn’t need my help
identifying the thumbs and broken controls
the ears and legs and torsos.

He doesn’t need me to figure what went wrong,
why the blood on the tracks stretches for miles before the crash-
but if I’m shouting it over my shoulders in hysteria
while I’m fleeing down any other road

I certainly won’t hear myself
la-la-la not listening.

One thought on “Day 122 – Train Wreck

Leave a Reply

