Home » Poetry » Day 127 – Wandering Light

Day 127 – Wandering Light

You will always be a wandering light
to me when everything is leaving-
when the darkness comes forever
I’ll know a spark is somewhere still.

My life, the reward for effort,
as it so often occurs, unjust,
shall be lived with your silver outline burned
behind every blink.

For trying, I’ll earn the right to go
and the burden to look back;
for trying to steal a blazing ray
which could blind, which could burn,
which wasn’t meant for me,
I’ll see you when you’re gone.

And in cloudy hours, all our settling
like snow upon the water,
kissing unto our instant death,
will live and breathe with me;
though my blindness blot all else, always

you will be a wandering light
to me.

2 thoughts on “Day 127 – Wandering Light

  1. “You will always be a wandering light
    to me when everything is leaving-
    when the darkness comes forever
    I’ll know a spark is somewhere still.”
    This is incredibly moving and beautiful. Well done.

Leave a Reply

