Home » Poetry » Day 128 – After Weeping My Heart Dry

Day 128 – After Weeping My Heart Dry

There’s a calm that babies know after shrieking themselves out
that I know after weeping my heart dry-
there is death but in the meantime there is sleep.

In the morning there’s a panic for the sins of my grief
but I know after weeping my heart dry-
there is pain and it’s the only thing that’s real.

There’s a stuffy kind of strong that I don’t ever want to be
and I know after weeping my heart dry-
there are things for which I won’t apologize.

There are those who’ll keep it in and say I oughtn’t let it out
but this I know after weeping my heart dry-
tears bring words bring healing
and there is no shame in that.

One thought on “Day 128 – After Weeping My Heart Dry

Leave a Reply

