Home » Other Writing » How I Stay Motivated Through the Gift of Groove: A Playlist

How I Stay Motivated Through the Gift of Groove: A Playlist

Being a poet is hard sometimes, especially an obviously insane one who’s pledged to crank out a poem every day for a year, rain or shine. I don’t ever use writing prompts (a separate rant about that is forthcoming, promise) so the ol’ wheels are constantly turning over every little nuance of everyday life to see what I can wring some deeper meaning out of. All of my poems are derived from personal life experiences, and the act of writing them out forces me to deal with all sorts of nagging things that would be much easier to just ignore. Not gonna lie, it can get emotionally draining sometimes.

That’s not to say I’m complaining, that’s just how it is. I love what I do, but 365 days is a long time and I couldn’t do it (or tell YOU that you absolutely can do it, too) without having some method of motivation, some outside help on reserve for when it gets tough. And that extra boost, my friends, is the gift of groove.

I don’t care if you’re the best poet in the world, you can’t do it long-term without having a way to let go. You can’t tell only one side of the truth, and you can’t write about joy if you don’t have any. Everybody has their own methods but mine happens to be busting out horrible, awful, just really bad dance moves in the comfort of my room after work. But it keeps the sadness away, it keeps me from ever getting too serious or too angsty, and it keeps me motivated for the better things that are yet to come. It keeps me silly and vibrant and thick-skinned enough to put myself out there for the world to read on a daily basis.

To that end, I present you with a playlist: my gift of groove to you. I play this in the morning to get stoked for the day and I play it at night to chase the nightmares away. Play this when life gets hard (or if you don’t like my music taste, make your own!) and laugh at yourself in the mirror while busting completely ridiculous moves. If you can do that, you can do anything.

1. Ellie Goulding – “Anything Could Happen”
2. M83 – “Midnight City”
3. Purity Ring – “Ungirthed”
4. Mika – “Big Girl (You Are Beautiful)”
5. Erasure – “Always”
6. Awolnation – “Sail Unlimited Gravity Remix”
7. Vampire Weekend – “Diane Young”
8. Animal Collective – “My Girls”
9. The Strokes – “Someday”
10. Alt-J – “Dissolve Me”
11. Two Door Cinema Club – “I Can Talk”
12. The Ramones – “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker”

Have suggestions or want to share your own playlist? Got another method that helps keep you sane while writing? Leave a comment below! Happy writing, happy reading, and happy grooving 🙂
Char

4 thoughts on “How I Stay Motivated Through the Gift of Groove: A Playlist

  1. 1.) Your playlist speaks to me, especially “Someday” by The Strokes. Love that song!
    2.) I’m currently near the end of my own pledge to write a short story a week for 52 weeks. My insane project is probably less stressful than your insane project, but one thing that’s helped me keep going/sane is switching up the kind of stuff I write about – so one week might be something very personal and emotionally intensive, and the next week might be more playful and magical. So if you have a day of writing where you feel especially emotionally drained, maybe try writing a sillier/crazier poem.

    • You’re so right, Matthew. Sometimes I’ll get comments like “whoa, this poem’s totally left field, someone got hit with the silly stick…” but it’s usually just my way of snapping out of serious mode before it goes too far.
      That’s awesome about your short story project, I imagine both our projects are stressful in their own unique ways… don’t know if I could handle a project like yours :/
      Thanks so much for reading 🙂
      Char

Leave a Reply

