Home » Poetry » Day 140 – Time Moves in Great Waves

Day 140 – Time Moves in Great Waves

Before I can fathom
what my life will be
I see that it already has-

I have spent so much of it loving
and fighting,
struggling to prove I was not wrong
in giving my heart, in believing-

I guess I won after all, because
no truth can be denied which is silent,
which is stubbornly held in fists,
and I will not hear otherwise.

But winning gives me grief, and I
can wish it were not so
but I cannot forego my steadfast claim,
cannot apologize.

And yet I’ll be taking the lessons
that I’ve been forced to bear
and will rise to do with the time that remains
what I was meant to do.

As time moves in great waves,
so do we all,
our strengths growing in crests,
leaving behind what we’ve done with fighting,
hoping the future shall not welcome us
without an answer
to what our lives have been.

And though I have never known
where love would end,
I would not stop its current
nor regret its visits here.

One thought on “Day 140 – Time Moves in Great Waves

Leave a Reply

