Home » Poetry » Day 148 – Jumping In

Day 148 – Jumping In

It would grip my heart and keep me safe up here,
where I’d always be sure of my feet,
always a titan on solid ground,
this fear which whispers its love,
if I let it.

But oh, to die up here in my element,
where no less than sufficient is expected
but no more than that is required,
having never pushed any further
than my comfort was willing to go-

To go on living in the vaguest sense,
gazing ever down to the sea,
with my cautious heart enveloped in ease,
satisfied with just enough-
it would keep me safe if I let it,
this fear which whispers its love,

but if it were not dashed on the waves
my heart would perish just the same-
from envy, stagnation, from sighing regrets-
from having never jumped in.

2 thoughts on “Day 148 – Jumping In

Leave a Reply

