Home » Poetry » Day 157 – Honey Didn’t Like Tomatoes

Day 157 – Honey Didn’t Like Tomatoes

I never once served a tomato in my house
‘Cause Honey didn’t like ’em
I picked ’em straight out of soup, salad, and sauce
‘Cause Honey didn’t like ’em

I was a very nice girl,
A very nice, tomato-less girl

‘Til Honey let it slip that his aversion
was based on more than preference-
to the buxom blonde next door whispered
his allergies, among other things

I used to be a very nice girl,
A very nice, tomato-less girl

But now I have tomatoes with every meal
I swim in ’em, slurp ’em up, peeled, stewed, or raw
They’re growing real nice in the backyard
‘Cause Honey’s long gone and I like ’em

5 thoughts on “Day 157 – Honey Didn’t Like Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

