Home » Poetry » Day 161 – Furniture and Books

Day 161 – Furniture and Books

My things, how I love them,
all I need-
furniture and books.

I tell them to stay put
and upon my return
I could rearrange them all around
any kind of way,
but I never do.

I like them where they are.

Friends…
I don’t know what to do with those.

They move around when I’m not there
and they get ideas about wanting to leave
and I can’t handle coming home
to see they’re different
or gone.

Friends are too hard for me.

But to be cursed with always only
furniture and books…
that’s not a bad fate to get,
I don’t think.

11 thoughts on “Day 161 – Furniture and Books

  1. We are as one on this, Charlotte! – but that I have a tendency to move my furniture around. A bit. Well, to have large well-muscled blokes do it for me. πŸ™‚
    I loved your backstory. And I hope I’m going to love all your poems. I shall tell you if I don’t …

    • I hope you love them as well, but please do feel free to share your opinion, even dislikes. The whole point of this little experiment is to get better, and that requires criticism! Thanks so much for reading πŸ™‚

  2. My brother is trying to do this poem a day thing too! It seems like a great idea. I write quite a lot myself and this is something I would like to do in the future when I am finished with university πŸ™‚ Keep it up!

  3. I don’t mean to be a bum I really don’t (as I really loved this one), but I really think that people don’t make compromises or go the extra mile for each other anymore, friends should do their best to understand, I don’t get what kind of friends you have, but I would rather be homeless with friends than rich with a book.

    But that’s just my naive, hopeful self.

    It’s kinda avoiding people to just live in your own comfort zone without ever needing to compromise, so you’d just live with yourself, happy, blind, blissful, ignorant,.

    But that’s just my naive, hopeful self.

    Cheers for the poem.

    • I get what you’re saying, but I will defend:
      this poem is not denying the need or want for friends. It’s merely shedding light on a condition of the mind which prevents some people from being as able to nurture friendships as they would like.
      It’s not out of selfishness or a lack of care for other people. But some people are so paralyzed by the natural order of friendships; the inability to control other people.
      People are unpredictable- they have their own dreams and desires which are often contrary to what we want for them or what we think they could or should become. It’s hard sometimes to let them go and be themselves, and therefore it can be hard to want to continue to make new friendships when in your mind it becomes a scary, unpredictable venture. Your friends will leave you sometimes, they will take roads to places you can’t follow, and that can make you hurt.

      It’s important to note that mostly my poems are meant to be read for the underlying truth or untruth, as the case may be. If you read carefully between the lines I think you will see the underlying sadness that comes with such a condition, even as one is trying to bolster one’s courage by believing it’s “not a bad fate to get.”

      • “not a bad fate to get”

        Aye, similar to the message in the honey and tomatoes one; love your path, right? ^ ^

        Anyway, well-spoken πŸ™‚ cheers!

  4. Great to see you appearing on dragonshades and I trust that you can find some inspiration amongst the shapes and colours. Love the words and ideas and I’m pretty sure that inanimate objects are not so inanimate and so definitely deserve your friendship and appreciation.

Leave a Reply

