Home » Poetry » Day 164 – If You Want to Vomit

Day 164 – If You Want to Vomit

If you want to vomit,
it’s quite easy:

consume.

Just eat,
and just drink;
bad things, good things,
liquors and fast food,
mushrooms and fine cheese
and dirt and rainwater
and pills.

You’ll produce something, all right.

When I was a little girl,
I thought I could never write,
because I had nothing to say.

But if you really want to vomit
something worthwhile,

spend a few years gorging
on sunsets, broken hearts,
paperwork and children,
lost keys and kisses
and pavements and clouds
and the past.

You’ll produce something, all right.

20 thoughts on “Day 164 – If You Want to Vomit

  1. Today im grateful for my randomness in posts I like to look at. Im pretty sure ive got a lot to catch up on being as how you are on 164. Beautiful use of words.

  2. You have a great way of capturing the attention of your reader :). I thought it was going to be an ode to vomit or something ha ha! Instead you drew me in and had me wondering till the end of the poem. Nice one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

