Home » Uncategorized » Time to Poll the Audience!

Time to Poll the Audience!

I’ve been ruminating on publishing options for my poetry for a while now. Because I’m posting them online here each day, the option to submit them to various literary magazines/journals is virtually destroyed since any reputable publication refuses to accept “previously published material.”

My thought is to self-publish them, whether in physical or e-book form. It has always been a personal goal of mine to release a collection, even if only to give it a home on my own shelf and watch it collect dust (but it wouldn’t because I read my own work religiously.)

I’m also not one to hawk anything to anybody. I have a pretty great day job which provides for all of my needs so you’ll never hear me spinning a sob story to sell a book, as I’ve *ahem* so often seen my colleagues doing. If you want it, you want it. If you don’t, I don’t care. I’d rather one person buy it because they want it and will read it than ten people buy it because they generally like me as a person and want to throw me a bone of support.

With that being said, I’d like to hear the thoughts of the masses regarding this subject. Don’t worry about hurting my feelings, either; more than likely (actually more like a 99% chance) I’ll self-publish whatever I want to, just for myself. If the whole world all at once shouted “Go eff yourself, we don’t want it,” I’d still publish it for my bookshelf and be pleased as punch ’til my dying day.

If you’d be so kind as to participate in the following poll, or leave your expanded thoughts in the comments below, I would be grateful πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Time to Poll the Audience!

  1. I think putting all 365 poems into a book would not only make a completely comprehensive catalogue of your work for you to treasure (which is definitely the right reason to be doing it) but it also gives the book a great hook for others – A year’s worth of poetry.

  2. If you’re up for an opinion…

    There are actually quite a few reputable publications, like Rattle, for example, that accept work that’s been online via personal blogs or critique sites. Some even say “no previously published pieces with the exception of personal blogs, if you’ve removed the piece prior to submission.” I post a few things to my blog and quite a bit on another site for feedback, and several of those poems have been picked up by nice journals.

    It’s more than alright to self-publish without any traditional publishing, but it would give you a bit of street cred if you’re able to say “so and so poem previously published at….[wherever].” That draws interest, so it could add a few sales to your book, and would cost you nothing. It’s almost a form of marketing; not to mention some publications will advertise your book or offer a review for you because they know it’ll give them a nod back to their site.

    The concept – 365 days of poetry – is an interesting one, and I’d definitely consider either the whole of it, as a personal documentation of a year which would feel memoir-ish, or just cutting it down to maybe 35-40 poems, which would allow for a cheaper selling price and possibly garner a few more buyers. (I voted for the option of not being made of money, haha.)

    Anyhow, good luck, whatever you decide to do! πŸ™‚

  3. This is something i would, one day hope to do down the road as well once i get a big enough collection going. As you can tell i only just recently started posting my pieces. My university has a book that they publish each year for visual artists to submit to and i have submitted and am waiting to hear back. I would, however, like to eventually publish my own book, or perhaps co-author one with my brother as he writes probably more than i do! Its a shame that poetry is not a more popular form of art. I would love for the world to see my work and to be honest i think that blogging is one of the more effective ways of really getting it out there because people who are interested will go looking for it and its free on here! I feel like a hard copy version is every writers end goal though! That way you have something tangible to represent you!
    Good luck! πŸ™‚

  4. I think self-publishing your poetry is definitely worth considering! All of my publications, both past and those I am currently working on, have been with small independent presses or self-published. I sort of think like you; I want people to buy my books because I like them or not, and while I’d honestly like to make a name for myself someday, I’m also content for now having a few people read my books who really genuinely get something out of them.

    if you’re looking to go the most inexpensive route, try publishing ebooks on a site like Goodreads. You can set your own price, get good royalties, and they send out to stores like Barnes and Noble. For print books, I just do paperback at Createspace. Again, you get to set your own price for the book; there are no hidden fees or anything, publishing is free. You do have to know how to create your own PDF file and cover for the book, so you might have to find some professionals for that, but there are all sorts of willing artists on places like Elance.com, or you can learn it yourself like me.

    Just some thoughts! Best to you whatever you do with your writing. ^_^

  5. You have to wonder about whomever it was who voted ‘no’. Like WHY ARE YOU EVEN HERE, DICKHEAD? But then, you’re not a vulgar person; so I’ll ask it for you. [grin]

  6. I’m in a similar position, having penned 365 days of poems at the end of 2013. I don’t think I would publish all of them, simply because there were days when I wasn’t that in love with what I posted and I wouldn’t like those days to reflect badly on the ones I liked more. I’m very interested in the comments here and what you decide to do!

  7. Three hundred and sixty-five poems will make a large compendium, even if split into four seasonal volumes, ninety poems per volume is a considerable wield, perhaps, if each season were to be broken down into three acts, that would be around thirty poems per book. There is the potential to build up a story around the 365 poems, to create anticipation for readers, particularly if for each book of 30 you were to interlace it with some intermittent prose, and diary/voice monologue entries, to fill the gaps in the story (in/behind the scenes/back story to over the period) to 365 poems, for the year, an elaborate introspective, a form of built narrative to support the poems. Much potential, and exploration exists in the current pursuit of your blog here, don’t limit yourself, see where 365 travel, real, or not. All the best for the remaining 199 days!

  8. Just a note Ma’am – where publishers state they are not interested in previously published work, I do not believe a blog counts. I have published poetry on my blog, and then submitted it to a publisher with that particular clause in their submission guidelines, and they have accepted it anyway.
    Also, just my opinion, but 365 poems – that’s a lot! I work alongside some companies which publish poetry, and the average anthology usually goes for less than 250 pages.
    Additionally, although some do not follow this rule, but many an anthology is fixated upon a particular genre. Take John Kinsella’s newest text, The Vision of Error, which was fixated around the preservation of the environment and the damage humanity does to it.
    Good luck!

  9. an interesting blog post and really interesting discussion which followed. I am also hoping to publish a book or two in future and the info answered a lot of queries I had.

  10. A very courageous move–I have to admit I don’t usually read poetry but the fact that you created this poll in itself makes me interested to read yours. So good luck! And thanks for the follow, I look forward to hearing more about your publishing journey.

  11. The idea of 365 Days of Poetry is a good concept, enough said there.

    I would definitely do your research for self publishing. I know my option for publishing some of the material from my blog is going to be at Lulu.com. You basically piece together your book using their layout and adding your own touches, but it makes sure you have everything you want included. Then, people are order copies as they like, you don’t need to commit to a certain amount of copies, and all Lulu does is take a small cut, which it shows before you complete the project.
    Perhaps there are other sites you can self publish or as some others have posted, look into physical publishers that won’t mind that it’s online.

  12. Hey Charlotte,
    When you publish, consider putting one image with each poem. The poem on one side of the page and the image on the other (for print) and the image at the top with the poem beneath (for e-book). Take your own pictures, use pictures from friends, and find free or cheap images online with flickr/creative commons (etc.) for those that are more difficult to get. Put yourself on Goodreads, link your blog to theirs if you can and let word-of-mouth take your collection where it will.
    It will be a lot fun and you can blog about the process after you’ve finished your challenge πŸ™‚
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

