Home » Poetry » Day 170 – The Resurgence of Radical Red

Day 170 – The Resurgence of Radical Red

My radical Red,
pretty young demon-
I remember.

We loved each other
and you never died.

I stuffed you up a chimney
but I never stopped quoting you,
I slit the tires on your monster rig
though I dreamed of taking a ride.

Because the uppers wouldn’t have liked you
I put you to rest,
but you were a damn good friend of mine.

We loved each other
and you never died.

You were the one who let your colors burn,
you gave me the fire we got in trouble for,
and you were the reason things were hard.

But things are easy now and I’m itchin’, Red
bustin’ walls ’cause you’re still alive-

I remember your fire like a whiskey night
and baby,
we’re goin’ for a ride.

7 thoughts on “Day 170 – The Resurgence of Radical Red

  1. I could tell you, but that would take away all the fun 😉
    Suffice it to provide you with 2 essential facts:
    1) There was a much punkier, more fun me who once lived but was somewhat too off-kilter to blend into the hallowed society of my teacher colleagues.
    2) I have a terrible memory and a large imagination, so trivial things (such as dying my hair or walking to school) are often memorialized in my poetry in hyperbolic, over-the-top ways.

Leave a Reply

