Home » Poetry » Day 177 – Weekend Wanderers

Day 177 – Weekend Wanderers

For we who pine
for a world we didn’t build,
didn’t watch from a foundling
stretch with us

but who do what we must
upholding rules we didn’t make,
living quietly on pride and
small rebellion,

a twenty-four hour radius
leaves an awful lot of places to go.

With a promise to be back to work
on Monday, 8 a.m.,
we could be over the river
quick enough-

hopping buses, jumping trains,
they don’t care where we’ve been-
dump our pebble-laden shoes
outside the door,

and relive our secret adventures
through the week.

As long as there are roads,
as long as there’s sun,
as long as there are paychecks
and things to be done,

I see no reason
why we shouldn’t be
weekend wanderers,
kissin’ the breeze.

11 thoughts on “Day 177 – Weekend Wanderers

  1. I dig it. The willingness to write about anything and everything really comes through in each of your pieces as you stick to your challenge of writing a poem a day. Question: does it feel like as much of a challenge as it did initially?

    • Actually that’s sort of what I’m writing about today. At the beginning I don’t think I quite grasped what a test of endurance it would be- I just wanted to do something big, something daring and outrageous. We don’t normally realize how long a year really is because it seems to pass us by so quickly, I think.
      But I liken it to distance running- you have to kind of get your rhythm and pacing down and not think too hard about the finish line. Each day I have to focus on the individual piece and I don’t even think about reaching the end anymore because honestly by this point I think there may not be one for me. But who knows.
      To answer your question, no it doesn’t. As with any routine it’s become a habit, an ingrained part of my day, and I don’t even remind myself to do it anymore. I just won’t feel complete if I don’t.
      That’s not to say there aren’t some days where I’m completely worn out and don’t AT ALL feel like concentrating enough to form a sentence, much less a poem. But that’s where the diligence comes in- can’t very well go and stop in the middle when I’ve come this far, can I? ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for reading, and for your interest. I hope I can be of some encouragement to you in your writing as well!

      • The challenge is its own reward at times, though, and I’m glad you’ve found it to be so rewarding. I like your analogy of distance running. Long haul commitments are best done in stages or the totality of the effort can overwhelm the mind; so I feel anyway.

        The diligence, aside from missing that part of the day which makes it feel complete, seems well tempered in your case. A friend of mine said something similar once when he was having a bad day:
        “Is all of my belief in God just gone because I had a bad day? Of course not! It just means I have to try harder.”

        Always. It helps immensely to be able to communicate to and with other regularly active writers. I find I get a lot of inspiration from reading other people’s blogs, like your own.

        Many thanks for your reply and sorry for my late one!

  2. Further point: I’ve slowed down on poetry for the time being, but the processes of going to sleep and waking up help immensely in writing prose scenes for me. Especially when I have a scene idea but not any concrete comprehension of how I’m going to ‘make it work’.

Leave a Reply

