Home » Poetry » Day 182 – The More You Tell It

Day 182 – The More You Tell It

Between us, a lump of clay- mine.
You asked for it, I handed it over.
I know it’s not as good as it should be yet,
but I’ll let you see what it is now.
You ask why it’s curved here,
how those bumps were made,
suggest it could be smoother somehow.
And when we walk away,
I’ll think about it.

Between us, a lump of clay- mine.
You asked for it, I handed it over.
I know it’s still in progress,
but I’ll let you see what I’m working on.
You like the bumpy parts,
think it’s shaping up nicely,
though perhaps it’ll be too small.
And when we walk away,
I’ll think about it.

But every time I walk away,
there’s new fingerprints.
And every time I have to start again.
Every time I hand it over
it comes back a little smudged,
and every time I leave
I’ve got to think about it.

But I’ll pass it to anyone who asks,
just so I can take a look at theirs,
and by leaving our smudges
we never die,
our masterpieces never complete,
our sacred collaboration forever.

5 thoughts on “Day 182 – The More You Tell It

  1. I like the idea behind this poem at least the idea that I felt it was about in my head. Leaving something behind that outlives us, leaving somewhat of a permanent footprint that makes us immortal. very nicely done though you may have a completely different meaning for it.

    • Although generally I’ll say that whatever meaning you find in a poem is yours and is therefore right, I will say this: I rather was intending this poem to convey, as the title suggests, that each time we tell the story of our lives to a new person we are not only opening ourselves to inspection, appraisal, and suggestions of improvement, as we also do for other people, but that we leave a lasting legacy, an ever-changing story which is the work of collaboration between ourselves and each person who appears therein, however briefly.
      (AKA, you’re right on the money.)
      Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

