Home » Poetry » Day 188 – I Wrote This Poem Asleep On The Bus

Day 188 – I Wrote This Poem Asleep On The Bus

I wrote this poem asleep on the bus
Dead sound asleep up the line
A suitcase full of black stars up on top
The churn of get-going freedom below

I wrote this poem asleep on the bus
While my town rolled away
But I never noticed when one ended
And another began

I wrote this poem asleep on the bus
I wasn’t really there so much as
Dreaming about new adventures and saying goodbye and
Trying to avoid the man next to me
Who kept asking if I wanted some Doritos
And telling me about his new job and new life
On the end of this same line
By pretending to be asleep

I wrote this poem asleep on the bus
Wondering why the best things are so simple but so tedious
And why they sometimes can get spoiled
By people
Who don’t realize you want to be asleep

3 thoughts on “Day 188 – I Wrote This Poem Asleep On The Bus

  1. In my head while reading, it seemed like your bus weaved its way along a slack-line, and the town, well it seemed to roll up into a ball before rolling away, but there you were, asleep on a bus riding a slack-line… Have fun…

  2. Very relatable transmission, we’ve all been there at one time or another. On that bus or some other. Thanks for sharing Miss Cuevas, A facetious fedora tip to you.

Leave a Reply

