Home » Poetry » Day 191 – Atonement

Day 191 – Atonement

If God would only promise
to take away my heart
as a plaything from a child
I’d promise to deserve it

I’d make up for it all,
every sin I didn’t commit,
apologize for the things
I had not done

The acts of which I’d repent
beyond invention, even
by those truly evil-
creating it to be absolved from it

Yes, it was me, it was my fault,
lock me up in chains
confiscate this broken heart
never to be used again

Never to feel a thing
penitent scapegoat
a bargain

Never to feel a thing
but I’d accept that fate
which no wise God would allow

For it is only fair
that his sin and hers
be spoken for
by them
if desired
if not
and not
if desired
by me

9 thoughts on “Day 191 – Atonement

  1. this feels very personal as a piece of art; and it feels like something you would share with someone who would appreciate it.

    I doubt my words make sense; but it’s great to see you enjoy your emotions via words.

    very well done as always. Objective emphasizing misplaced words.

    Well done, nonetheless.

    I guess
    šŸ™‚

    • Your words do make sense! Poetry for me is a way to share with the world what I can’t share with those around me, and sometimes to embellish and make more applicable the tiny everyday rumblings I experience on a larger scale.

      Thank you for reading and giving my feelings more strength and more purpose.

      • Oh dear Charlotte, I’m glad I help give you extra confidence in your own words. It is the same way for me; I say what I dare not say to those who directly matter (though I lately have realized that my blog means only what I mean to myself).

        Your blog makes me happy, and thank you for inspiration! Soon, I hope to bring my thoughts to sound!

        Also, you are a beautiful as your words; soon people will understand will as much as you do, and truth is: it gives me hope that people enjoy words a bit deeper than usual,

        Keep on moving!

        Beautiful words to your beautiful mind,

        ^-^

  2. It’s much easier for me to tell what’s going on using made up characters doing impossible things than it is for.me.to.write the facts down. And reading poems sometimes has the same effect on me.

  3. By the way, I don’t mean to be an ass (well technically I am), but I would love to see your opinion/comments on my own poems. ^ ^ There aren’t much but I’m merely curious šŸ™‚

  4. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Charlotte Cuevas grapples with an overwhelming emotion many of us have fought with and lost to over the years. The pleading voice of the narrative comes across as sincere and by evoking the Divine she shows us just how responsible we are for repairing our pains and devastations.

Leave a Reply

