Home » Poetry » Day 193 – I May Not Believe In Magic

Day 193 – I May Not Believe In Magic

I may not believe in magic, but
some days I gotta hand it to fate-
just when the days seem a losing fight
and the sparkle’s all but gone

it can realign at any time,
it can put you on your feet.

I may not believe in magic, but
I’ve certainly believed in strength-
just when I was armoring up for the fight,
accepting that recovery would be hard-won,
determined to live and to die in truth
and rejoice in the meantime hollows

the course was altered.

A bone was thrown, a break was caught,
a curtain lifted, a punishment spared,
a tree was planted to make my daily intake
of air a little sweeter, more clean.

I may not believe in magic, but
it’s working hard to change my mind
and I’m not asking questions anymore-
I may not believe in magic, but
today I think it believes in me.

2 thoughts on “Day 193 – I May Not Believe In Magic

Leave a Reply

