Home » Poetry » Day 200 – Holden Days

Day 200 – Holden Days

I go tromping around in pajama bottoms and zit cream
and kick the trash bag all the way to the dumpster,
slap the cat off the counter, swig milk out of the carton,
scream at the neighbors upstairs

I drive around the city for miles in the dark
but nowhere’s good enough to stop
and my hot poetry blows out the windows, falling
unintelligible on pedestrian ears

I am allergic to human stupidity, I just know it
just like I know I could be one of the greats
if I ever got around to it, if I ever gave a damn
and I don’t because they wouldn’t understand

I spend hours debating, counting the hairs in the carpet
with my face, whether I should even bother
trying to write this feeling out, to immortalize this phase
when any smart person should hear “Holden days” and know

I remember the last time they passed, though I can’t think of how
and I know they bloody well will come again
but I’ve got children to catch, and I guess they won’t much care
if I’m a great phony or just a normal one

I think it won’t much matter, after everything is done
whether I did anything but see them off,
see them safely to their cars and their carpets
to debate which days it’s ever worth the fuss

4 thoughts on “Day 200 – Holden Days

  1. Excellent! I especially like this stanza:

    “I am allergic to human stupidity, I just know it
    just like I know I could be one of the greats
    if I ever got around to it, if I ever gave a damn
    and I don’t because they wouldn’t understand”

    Wonderfully put and crafted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

