Home » Poetry » Day 202 – Patience and Luck and Lots of Chalk

Day 202 – Patience and Luck and Lots of Chalk

Man, just a sandwich, can I get through one?
At the tail end of a story, is there no peace?

Here they come,
I’m an idiot,
I knew they would

But god, did it have to be those two?
Those flagrantly happy shmucks?

Wanna read my tarot,
wanna eat my chips,
wanna talk

How old am I, she asks,
oh, only six years older,
I’ve got time,
she had to wait a while

Girl.

She raves about it takes patience and luck

Girl.

I say ‘and lots of chalk’
(and please go away which she doesn’t hear
and all I get’s the look I wanted,
she’s confused)

Girl,
you don’t know about drawing boards yet,
and I hate to be harsh
but you’re sitting where I want to put my feet.

3 thoughts on “Day 202 – Patience and Luck and Lots of Chalk

  1. yeah, that last stanza is fabulous! I’m becoming such a big fan of yours, you know–so glad I get to read your poems every day!

Leave a Reply

