Home » Poetry » Day 214 – Overheard Ruminations On Rudimentary Knowledge

Day 214 – Overheard Ruminations On Rudimentary Knowledge

“We don’t give half-points
for half-answers,
we don’t want you solving it
any other way
and we don’t reward mere effort.”

“I mean, how could I admire someone
who knows nothing about cabbage leaves,
carbine engines, or calculus?
About gramophones, taoism,
zones of proximal development?”

“…10 or 12-point font, double-spaced,
in Times New Roman or Calibri only,
1” margins with each page numbered,
and don’t try that lengthening trick
where you enlarge all the periods.”

“But does he ask questions
when you tell him about it?
Does he show that he wants to know?”

“I don’t care a whiff about Rachmaninoff,
she can’t solve complex equations!”

“Yes mother, but those thirsty eyes!
He wants me to draw it out,
whatever I tell him,
and he won’t let me leave
’til he’s got it!”

“What a pity to know only parts of a thing,
not to conquer all facets of its weight,
not to climb to the peak of understanding
and claim every nuance of everything
under the shadow of its grasp.”

5 thoughts on “Day 214 – Overheard Ruminations On Rudimentary Knowledge

  1. This was goddamned amazing. I was hooked on the title alone, and the poem itself was a brain stirring style of odd and yet surprisingly familiar points of erudition. Great work.

    • Ah, thank you! I happen to like this one very much, and it seems to be the case often that the ones I think are my best are also the ones that get the least amount of ‘likes’.
      Not that it matters how many likes each one gets, but I like to gauge popular opinion in that way and it gets a little discouraging when the poems which employ more subtlety and require a little more thought are less popular for it.
      Regardless, I’m proud to present poetry for all types of readers (just know that comments like yours get me right in the heart and guts because it’s nice to know somebody out there is pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down, ya dig?)
      Cheers,
      Char

  2. You’re most welcome, Charlotte.
    We are fickle things, people I mean, and it’s odd how our interest waxes and wanes, often regardless of how much effort goes into a poem over what is the final (not that there ever is really a ‘final’ for any writer, just an everchanging product). You definitely have a really diverse range, and it’s readily evident that you practise your craft of writing really well, not to mention often.

    Yep, I fully dig. 😀
    Rav.

  3. “…10 or 12-point font, double-spaced,
    in Times New Roman or Calibri only,
    1” margins with each page numbered,
    and don’t try that lengthening trick
    where you enlarge all the periods.”

    This must have been a teacher.

Leave a Reply

