Home » Poetry » Day 220 – Prerequisite Experiences Including But Not Limited To

Day 220 – Prerequisite Experiences Including But Not Limited To

You want magic,
I know,
but you won’t get it.

And that’s not my bitter heart lashing out,
I’m not glad about the way that it works,

but I’m afraid
I’ve seen
too much.

Oh, there’s magic in you, absolutely there is,
like there’s magic in seeds but
that takes work and time and
that’s not the magic you want.

You want magic that’s easy
and you believe in it because
it’s extraordinary-
well, it would be
if it were easy.

But there’s an order to magic,
in the way that no man
can have bread without planting
the grain,
in the way that we should rejoice
for we cannot die without having
lived.

Magic can give you a step
when all you had was a stone,
if you know just where to place it
but that’s all it can do.

You want magic,
I know,
but it won’t come to you
’til the prerequisites have been met,
when you’ve made of your stones
a ladder to the heavens
and climbed it without any help.

Magic will come when you’ve forgotten it
but it will not come to you.

4 thoughts on “Day 220 – Prerequisite Experiences Including But Not Limited To

  1. I loved this – I’ve known this: “Oh, there’s magic in you, absolutely there is,
    like there’s magic in seeds but
    that takes work and time”

  2. Right now, I’m polishing tomorrow’s story which is actually about a magician, but also about the magic that you talk about in your poem as well. I think this is good, but right now, I’m just a little stunned by how well it slid into my train of thought. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

