Home » Poetry » Day 224 – In One Single Moment

Day 224 – In One Single Moment

I have seen the universe expand
in one single moment.
I have heard the long-silent stars
ring out and cry “Yes, we are here!
Even in the daytime,
far above your soaked pillows,
when afternoon heartsickness has taken your hope,
even though you don’t believe,
we’re still here!”

I have seen time play out
in one single moment,
through all its reaches,
backwards and forwards,
through everything that needed to happen
and why
to everything that could now happen
and how.

I have reasoned with reason
and I shall not win-
though it concedes that it has not power over all,
the one thing it cannot touch
is what I’ve been wrong about.

The universe has told me all,
that nothing is an accident,
that every scar and betrayal and soaked pillow
is imperative
for they lay the groundwork
for miracles.

And the universe has explained to me
that what we really need
are not guarantees
but chances-
chances to overcome and to surrender,
to forgive the unnumbered wounds we never deserved,
to give rise to beauty and impossible things,
to hope again and again.

In one single moment
the universe has forgiven me,
granted me a glimpse into the faith I’ve tried to hold,
and in finally beholding the magnitude
of what I could not see,
I have finally forgiven myself.

7 thoughts on “Day 224 – In One Single Moment

  1. The beginning, dark,
    labored breath with
    pen stroke heavy

    The writing, throughout,
    words mingled freely,
    amidst darkness and light

    The ending, a message,
    strength and forgiveness
    concluding in comfort for all

    Cheryl A. Brindle

  2. Yes, yes, yes! Stunning! Your words make the seemingly inaccessible, accessible! The unreal, real and into being.
    Our lives…the Universe….one thing. Inseparable. With meaning, hope and reason. It is only our thinking which changes our perception. The Universe simply is. Thank you! You put it so well!

  3. What a beautiful and “metaphysical” poem! I do love the last stanza:
    “In one single moment
    the universe has forgiven me,
    granted me a glimpse into the faith I’ve tried to hold,
    and in finally beholding the magnitude
    of what I could not see,
    I have finally forgiven myself”.
    Thanks for sharing your Poetry! FGM

Leave a Reply

