Home » Poetry » Day 243 – I Feel Like I’ve Made It Pretty Simple

Day 243 – I Feel Like I’ve Made It Pretty Simple

If you listen in on the coffee-shop conversation,
an exasperated weekender still clinging to youth,
you’ll get to know a fake.

If you listen to what my boss says
about my performance and general attitude,
you’ll get to know a fake.

If somehow you heard the way I speak to myself
when no one else is around,
you’ll get to know a kook.

If you listen to my parents,
you’ll get to know me twenty years ago.

If you listen to me when I tell you
exactly what I’m like
you’ll be gettin’ it all wrong
because I can’t.

The measure of what anyone is
is just what they have been recently,
through all their cycles of joy and pain,
how they’ve dealt with it.

And to find all that,
the way I conquer all my days,
my trail of bread crumbs-
I feel like I’ve made it pretty simple.

Everything is here.

 

4 thoughts on “Day 243 – I Feel Like I’ve Made It Pretty Simple

  1. Dear Ma’am, of the 365 POEMS that are in repository it may be presumptuous to request them to assess their neighbors through the commentary of those at distance enough to allow the some of us to tell You how your “it” looks from OUR “here”. The title could be about how most people are “asleep” while they ‘witness’ an event, like one of Your clear thoughts. Since most arrive, to site, as when traveling the “road’ somewhere, like any highway ‘hotel’ the “mades” turn down the covers,some providing a morsel to remove the “road grimes” from the tongue… the book of: “a MIND’S “breath” meant.”
    “D”

  2. I guess, there aint any true measure of anyone. Everyone deals with life differently and I am happy for you because you have made it pretty simple.

    Keep posting πŸ™‚

  3. Just imagine if day 242… and your poem it this cool. that good! My gosh, by 345… what the heck! Insanely brilliant! πŸ™‚ thanks again Charlotte. Wonder woman of words πŸ™‚ (see what I did there)

Leave a Reply

