Home » Poetry » Day 249 – Closed For Maintenance

Day 249 – Closed For Maintenance

I had my phone turned off,
I shut my website down,
I banned myself from anywhere they knew my name.

I took a kickboxing class,
I read a whole stack of books,
I sat on every park bench in this city.

I was alive and free again,
I was an undisclosed secret,
I didn’t want for any friend under the moon.

I was a beast like that,
I was a beast like that,
I was a sly beast which none could ever glimpse.

I was closed for maintenance and
I was safe;
I was all the world was ever gonna get.

I was closed for maintenance and
I was safe;
the world would never light itself with me.

7 thoughts on “Day 249 – Closed For Maintenance

Leave a Reply

