Home » Poetry » Day 272 – A Conversation Between Friends-Turned-Enemies

Day 272 – A Conversation Between Friends-Turned-Enemies

She said “Who are you going, and do you think
I’m crazy after all this time?”

I said, “I don’t know when I’m coming to
or why I’ll get there, when did you ask me
such things?”

She said “I’ve never been a ballerina before
but I wanted you to know.”

And there weren’t more than thoughts
that didn’t sound.

But I said, “I would’ve remembered you
if I’d seen you on a stage.”

She said, “And then you never
would’ve broken my legs
to teach me dancing.”

It’s true I wouldn’t have even touched her.

I do think that she’s crazy, more than certain,
and I’m glad

but if she’d stayed away I wouldn’t have even touched her.

One thought on “Day 272 – A Conversation Between Friends-Turned-Enemies

Leave a Reply

