Home » Poetry » Day 278 – No Deal

Day 278 – No Deal

On my knees I shut them out
with one eye peeking, listening,
display of refusal but I’m listening
as they’re trying to make me a deal

They offer a hypothetical mirage,
this I’ve known all the time,
but wouldn’t it be nice to think
for just one second

That I’d gamble this all away,
that I’d trade my dying times
for artificial flavoring

They say, “Honey you could stop all this,
you wouldn’t have to cry,
just join the human race
just do what they do
just put all your dreams in a shoe box
where nobody’d
find it to take it from you”

But the pain of being real
is too precious
and so there is
no deal.

Leave a Reply

