Home » Poetry » Day 293 – Growing Down

Day 293 – Growing Down

When playing video games in our underwear was your ideal
and I couldn’t do it,
when I was bored with your old cartoons
and didn’t want to sit still-

you were trying not to grow up
and I couldn’t stand that.

But I think we had it all backwards
’cause you were already there-
I couldn’t be your youth again
’cause I wanted away from that.

Do you have cookies for breakfast, old man,
wherever, whoever you are now?
Are you still growing down,
now that I’ve grown up?

2 thoughts on “Day 293 – Growing Down

Leave a Reply

