Home » Poetry » Day 302 – Not In The Budget

Day 302 – Not In The Budget

After careful calculations,
though I wish it weren’t true,
it’s just not in the budget
to spend any time with you

Ask me how I’ve grown so callous,
this girl who couldn’t get by
without pocket money kisses
and bankrupt sighs

A bottle of vodka says I’m Scrooge-ing,
a condom calls me a quitter,
the church says my treasures are stored up in heaven,
my friends just roll their eyes

They don’t think I know all that,
that I’m irony’s loving slave,
but I’m set on things past their vision,
things for which I’ll save

Until someone can buy me out

Until then, you’re not in the budget

4 thoughts on “Day 302 – Not In The Budget

Leave a Reply

