Home » Poetry » Day 310 – I’m

Day 310 – I’m

I’m the one I love
and love the most-

I’m the one napping in the flower beds,
not the one lost in the woods.
I’m the one building fires on the mountain,
not the one praying for rain.
I’m the one busting out of handcuffs,
and I’m the one who must remain,
when the southern heat takes all the feasting away,
when the chill of the north takes its toll.

I’m the one standing in a factory line,
arms up, like a ham on a catwalk,
and I’m the one who’s gotta go home
and to sleep, and to miracles before dawn.

I’m the one who feels their eyes
and I’m the one who refuses to speak,
but I’m the one who smiles like a weirdo,
and I’m the one who best loves me.

Leave a Reply

