Home » Poetry » Day 319 – Switchblade

Day 319 – Switchblade

I just don’t have any princess in me;
the gentlest of souls who think of earning my grace
are going about it all wrong.

I know the books scream at me I wanna be saved
but I’ve already saved myself.
And what has anyone better than that
to offer?

I don’t want
a prize
for second
place.

Beat me bad if you can, I wish
somebody would.

And I want to place my hand
in every sweet boy’s and drop
a switchblade, “tag, you’re it”
and bolt

and know that one
will catch me
and cut.

Leave a Reply

