Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 4 – Singular Instances Of Young Vegetation

Year 2: Day 4 – Singular Instances Of Young Vegetation

I hear it said that a plant could outlast me,
little green chump in a jar could outlast me,
little stick nothing thing I have to water
could live a lot longer than I.

I know some trees and some plants have got big
for thousands of years before me have got big,
with nobody’s little stick fingers to water them,
with nobody’s aching back.

I know my kind has been feeding them, though
for as long as we’ve needed to be useful, I know,
been giving them our little watering help
with everybody’s fertile bones.

But I have to water this tyrannous baby,
this unwavering grandfather future-prone baby,
’cause we all think singular instances
shouldn’t be allowed to die out.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

Leave a Reply

