Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 5 – Magnifying Glass

Year 2: Day 5 – Magnifying Glass

I think if you bring me
one more sarcastic magnifying glass
I’ll break it in little pieces
and sprinkle them
on the ground where you walk
like rose petals before a king.

If we want to get snarky
we can do that but
I’ve already been holding back.

I know you get so defiant.
I see your lips twist in a sneer
when I say, “Look closer”
and you don’t do it.

It’s as well that I shower you
in confetti-shards,
yelling “Mazel tov” and “Hail the King”,
and leave you to pick up the pieces
you can’t see.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

2 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 5 – Magnifying Glass

Leave a Reply

