Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 6 – Inconvenient Acquaintances

Year 2: Day 6 – Inconvenient Acquaintances

If I wanna put my feet up on the other side of the booth
and let them fall asleep, I will-
I guess it’s just an arbitrary quirk, probably,
although it’s pretty inconvenient for you.

I’d take them down to let you sit if I could,
that’s probably the truth.

If I wanna get to the end of this chapter without interruption
or finish this poem, I will-
I guess it’s one of those things that’s not easy for you
but for me it’s actually pretty alright.

I’d put my work on hold for you if it made sense,
that’s probably the truth.

But these things that get in the way of us,
our moment in the sun of talking weather,
shooting the breeze, so very nearly kill me,
you wouldn’t believe it.

I’d die without your acquaintance, dear,
that’s probably the truth.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

2 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 6 – Inconvenient Acquaintances

Leave a Reply

