Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 15 – I Wanna Be A Clam

Year 2: Day 15 – I Wanna Be A Clam

You can tell me
if I gotta be some citizen, but
just gimme the wink
that I can be a clam and die
and I’ll be fine.

Who’s the fool to fix
what nobody understands,
albatross-toss-and-turn
all night?

I wanna be a clam.

Oh I know they don’t do much
but polish sand too numerous already,
but do you see that?
It was too much before I was here.

But doggedly, doggedly,
I can, I can,
keep taking my cracks at spit-shine
’til it’s over

because it will be.

I wanna be a clam,
darkness into dark,
and leave a quiet rock-study
of my bones.

I wanna be a clam and go
soundless into still,
but leave the jewels of my body
in the sand.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

One thought on “Year 2: Day 15 – I Wanna Be A Clam

Leave a Reply

