Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 22 – Car Salesman Mentality

Year 2: Day 22 – Car Salesman Mentality

Even if I told the truth,
no one would believe me.

What’s the point of being an honest man?

What do I gain from waiting for a ‘yes’,
from putting my name on it,
from holding my tongue?

In some cultures
good deeds
are rewarded
but that’s not
my line
of work.

What’s the point of being an honest man,
when it gets you nowhere?

What’s the point of being an honest man,
when it leaves you hanging?

In some cultures
there are jobs
that pay better.

In some cultures
I wouldn’t be
here.

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 22 – Car Salesman Mentality

  1. Honesty is the reward within it’s self…The reward of not complicating one’s life even more by being dishonest…The end doesn’t justify the means of being dishonest!

Leave a Reply

