Home » Poetry » Year 2: Day 23 – How Many Times

Year 2: Day 23 – How Many Times

How many times did I break your heart?
Give it to me slow so I can write it all down,
so I can keep it on a shelf in a picture frame,
a picture of a different me,
so when I’m prim and prattling on about consistency,
a record of my used-to-be.

How many times did I break your heart,
who swore around the block I never would,
who played the victim so well, so long,
I never noticed you wincing,
who came down so hard on a broken man
I never saw your heart go, too.

I know you want to forget it,
but tell me so I’ll always know-

how many times did I break your heart
because I couldn’t let you go?

 

Don’t forget to check out my first anthology, Candy Pizza: Poetry that’s Fun and Healthy, available on Amazon & Kindle.

 

5 thoughts on “Year 2: Day 23 – How Many Times

  1. I am still getting used to commenting on poetry. It is much different than prose. I find myself easily finding words to explain how I feel when reading a piece of prose. And yet, with poetry I find myself unable to construct the words, even though the feelings and emotions run as deep, sometimes even deeper.

    You have a gift in the way you are able to speak in these unspoken tones. Beautiful poem, thank you so much for sharing and best wishes for an inspired day!

Leave a Reply

